top of page

1000 Years. There has to be a better way.


It takes plastic grocery bags 1000 years to fully decompose. I would rather carry out all my items one by one than use plastic bags. So I went looking for other options.

10 Pack of Strawberry Shopping Bags, Ripstop Nylon Reusable Shopping Tote Bag, Expandable ECO Bags (Color A)

I found these bags on Amazon for a pretty decent price. They are easy to use and lightweight. We've had them for about 6 months now and they are still functioning - no rips or tears. However, there are a few seams that look like they might need reinforcing soon. But to be fair, I do carry quite a bit of weight in them, so I'm not surprised.

Natural Home Brands Reuseable Produce Bags with Drawstrings, Pack of 5

We also found these produce bags. They are also lightweight and stretch quite a bit. They always hold more than I expect. I also like that they are pretty see-through which helps the cashiers see what is inside the bag.

The only downside I have found with both of these is that they are made of polyester, which can break down over time and pollute the water. When these finally are beyond repair, I will replace them with some nice cotton bags.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

bottom of page